MTT-S Logo
February 2021

Using "Information Metasurfaces"

Information metasurfaces extend physical metasurfaces (with their promise for tailoring electromagnetic waveforms) into the wireless communications. Using FPGAs, informational metasurfaces offer a tool for controlling EM waves in real time, allowing new transmitter architectures and possibly revolutionizing network communications.


With thousands of coaxial cable models on the market, choosing the right one for your application can be daunting. Review the fundamentals of cable construction, connector types, performance parameters and common tradeoffs in this detailed selection guide.


2021 MTT-S Awards: Individual

MTT-S announced the recipients of the Society's 2021 Awards. Recipients of individual awards are: Microwave Career Award: David B. Rutledge for career leadership and contributions. Microwave Pioneer Award: Kam Yin Lau, for developing RF-over-fiber. Distinguished Service Award: Richard V. Snyder for service to the Society and profession. Distinguished Educator Award: Aly Fathy and Stephen M. Goodnick. Microwave Application Award: Lawrence Dunleavy, for contributions improving the utility of field effect transistor models. Outstanding Young Engineer Awards: Shilong Pan for photonics-assisted measurements, Michael Roberg for high-power monolithic IC design, Kaushik Sengupta for mmWave and THz IC systems in silicon, and Adrian Tang for infusing mmWave and system-on-chip technology into space instruments for Earth science. And the N.W. Cox Award: Kamran Ghorbani for exemplary service to the society and selfless dedication.
→ Read more


2021 MTT-S Awards: Best Papers

Recipients of MTT-S 2021 best-paper awards are: Microwave Prize: Chao Yu, Jianxin Jing, Han Shao, Zhi Hao Jiang, Pinpin Yan, Xiao-Wei Zhu, Wei Hong, and Anding Zhu for “Full-Angle Digital Predistortion of 5G Millimeter-Wave Massive MIMO Transmitters.” Tatsuo Itoh Award: Jeng-Han Tsai, TiKu Yu, and Wang-Lung Huang for “An X-Band 29.6-dBm CMOS Power Amplifier Using Folded Radial Splitter and Binary Combiner Network.” Terahertz Transactions Award: Maris Bauer, Adam Ramer, Serguei A. Chevtchenko, Konstantin Y. Osipov, Dovile Cibiraite, Sandra Pralgauskaite, Kestutis Ikamas, Alvydas Lisauskas, Wolfgang Heinrich, Viktor Krozer and Hartmut G. Roskos for “A High-Sensitivity AlGaN/GaN HEMT Terahertz Detector With Integrated Broadband Bow-Tie Antenna.” Microwave Magazine Award: Negar Reiskarimian, Aravind Nagulu, Tolga Dinc, and Harish Krishnaswamy for “Nonreciprocal Electronic Devices: A Hypothesis Turned Into Reality.”
→ Read more


Space Matching for Wireless Power Transmission

Space matching--a novel concept that includes aperture field matching, power matching, and impedance matching--goes beyond end-to-end power transfer efficiency and power conversion efficiency to optimize wireless power transfer systems, boosting overall power transfer efficiency up to 19.4%.
→ Read more


Microwave Sensing of Yeast Species and Viability

A simple interferometer-based microwave sensing system can characterize and differentiate yeast species passing through flow cells. Frequency-dependent permittivity differences distinguished between two yeast species, and between living and dead cells, in a mixed suspension.
→ Read more


Advanced Stationary Point Concentration Radar

Advanced stationary point concentration (A-SPAC) improves on the best previous techniques for detecting small drones via frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) radar. The approach improves the performance of methods for mitigating leakage, lowering the noise floor and improving signal-to-noise ratios for more accurate distance and velocity sensing.
→ Read more


28 Feb. Deadline for Wireless Power Transfer Papers

The deadline for submitting papers for the 2021 IEEE Wireless Power Transfer Conference (WPTC, San Diego, 1-4 June) has been extended to 28 Feb. WPTC will run parallel to IEEE Workshop on Emerging Technologies in IEEE's Wireless Power Week. (WPW2021). Conference organizers seek papers on a wide range of WPT technologies spanning the electromagnetic spectrum.
→ Read more


Characterizing Power Amps Using a VNA as Receiver

A newly calibrated testbed based on a commercial vector network analyzer (VNA) provides fast in-band vector signal characterization and linearization of nonlinear multiport devices. The testbed can acquire both CW and wideband modulated periodic signals without breaking contact with the DUT, in up to five channels. The time-domain measurements are made possible by calibrating all the receivers in the frequency domain.
→ Read more


MTT-S Webinar: Connecting with Your Audience

This free 11 March MTT-S webinar analyzes "Three-Minute Thesis" (3MT) presentations from past Microwave Week to help engineers convey the excitement of their work to non-technical audiences. Presenters John Bandler (McMaster University, left) and Erin Kiley (Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts) team up with 3MT winners Daniel Tajik and Aline Eid. (Click here for information on future MTT-S webinars.)
→ Read more


Position-Insensitive Wireless Power Transfer

A new WPT circuit (with two passive nonlinear resonators in both the transmitter and receiver) adapts to a wide range of coupling-factor variations to provide constant output power without active control circuitry, frequency tuning, or complicated coil configurations. A 60-W prototype circuit operating at 1.5 MHz maintained near-constant output power as coil separation varied by up to 15 cm.
→ Read more


Coming Up: Wireless & Microwave; Texas

Upcoming MTT-S sponsored conferences include: Wireless and Microwave Technology (WAMICON, Virtual, 10-15 Apr.); Texas Symposium on Wireless and Microwave Circuits and Systems (WMCS, Virtual, 18-20 May); Latin America Microwaves (LAMC, Cali, Colombia, 26-28 May), Wireless Power Transfer (WPTC, San Diego, 1-4 Jun.), and others. And don't forget the International Microwave Symposium (IMS, Atlanta, GA, 6-11 June).
→ Read more

Have Something to Share With MTT-S Colleagues?

Members of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society who want to share information about events, conferences, contests, publications, or other topics of interest to MTT-S colleagues are invited to e-mail Newsletter Working Group chair Roberto Gómez García ( and newsletter editor Douglas McCormick (


Privacy Policy | Unsubscribe | Advertise

©{{my.copyright year}} IEEE - All rights reserved. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions.